JavaScript Required We're sorry, but this site doesn't work properly without JavaScript enabled. If you can't enable JavaScript please click here to view settings.

All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Nagpur

Department of Microbiology, AIIMS, Nagpur conducted 3 pre-conference workshops at MAHATROPACON 2024

The Department of Microbiology, AIIMS, Nagpur in association with Indian Academy of Tropical Parasitology (IATP) and Vidarbha Association of Medical Microbiologists (VAMM) had organized the 1st Conference of Indian Academy of Tropical Parasitology (Maharashtra Chapter) – “MAHATROPACON 2024” on 13th - 14th January 2024. The Organizing Committee of conference comprises of Dr. Meena Mishra, Organizing Secretary, Professor  & Head, Department of Microbiology, AIIMS, Nagpur, Joint Organizing Secretaries, Dr. Neeta Gade and Dr. Vishal Shete, and Dr. Soumyabrata Nag, Treasurer, Dr. Anuradha De, (President, MCIATP) Dr. Gopal Agrawal, Secretary, IATP, Maharashtra Chapter, Dr. Rajendra Surpam (President, VAMM), Dr. Nandkishore Bankar (Secretary VAMM). As a part of the conference, 3 pre-conference workshops were conducted on 12th January 2024.

There were more than 100 Medical Microbiologists from all over Maharashtra and adjoining states who participated in this exhaustive academic feast. The distinguished faculty of National and International repute, Dr. Rakesh Singh, Dr. Ranganathan Iyer, Dr.Yagnesh Thakar, Dr. Anuradha De, Dr. Tuhina Banerjee, Dr. Arghya Das, Dr. Sunil Kolte, Dr. Neeta Gade, Dr. Vishal Shete, Dr. Soumyabrata Nag, Dr. Rahul Garg, Dr. Pradeep Kumar V have given their deliberations on important topics like untangling the complexities in stool examination with basics, fixation techniques for helminths, microscopic examination of stool specimens, Approach to molecular techniques, automated systems in diagnosis blood and Intestinal parasites, epidemiology of parasitic infections in immunosuppressed patients, Laboratory diagnosis of enteric parasitic infections in immunosuppressed hosts, clinical cases of Invasive Parasitic infections etc.

This pre-conference workshops on tropical Parasitology encompassed various didactic lectures and hands on training for basics techniques of stool examination, intricacies of microscopic techniques for intestinal protozoans, staining methods, approach to molecular techniques in diagnostic parasitology and diagnosis of parasitic infections in immunosuppressed hosts. The pre-conference alsofocused on One Health concept which emphasized the interconnectedness of humans, animals and the environment and helped to know latest advances in the field of tropical parasitology for the betterment of patient care.

Pre-conference Workshops were organized on burning and important topic like:

1. Untangling the complexities is stool examination with basics

2. Microscopy to molecular: connecting dots for an optimal approach

3. Parasitic infection in an Immunosuppressed host.

The Inaugural Ceremony was held on 12th January 2024 at 9.00 AM in the lecture hall 3, Medical college building, AIIMS, Nagpur. The Chief Guest for the Pre-conference workshop inauguration was Dr. Mrunal Phatak, Dean (Academics), AIIMS, Nagpur. The Guests of honor were Dr. Anuradha De, (President, MCIATP), Dr. Vilas Laxman Jahagirdar, (Ex-Dean, GMC, Miraj) and Dr. Himanshu Patil (MMC Observer) with other dignitaries Dr. Gopal Agrawal (Secretary, MCIATP), Dr. Rajendra Surpam (President, VAMM), Dr. Nandkishore Bankar (Secretary VAMM), Dr. Meena Mishra, Organizing Secretary, Dr. Neeta Gade, Dr. Vishal Shete and  Dr. Soumyabrata Nag.


Dr. Meena Mishra, Organizing Secretary welcomed the guest faculty and delegates and briefed about the scientific schedule of the pre-conference. She appreciated the strong support from the Institute, Department, MCIATP and VAMM. She briefed about the rising concern of neglected tropical parasites causing infections in humans and their various diagnostic modalities to detect and prevent them involving the One Health approach.

Dr. Anuradha De, President, MCIATP welcome the guest faculty and delegates and complimented the organizing team for the excellent scientific event which will ignite the mind of young budding microbiologists.

Dr. Mrunal Phatak, Dean (Academics) Chief Guest of inaugural ceremony of pre-conference workshop appreciated the efforts put by Organizing Secretary Dr. Meena Mishra and the entire organizing team of MAHATRAPACON – 2024.

Dr. Vilas L Jahagirdar, (Ex-Dean, GMC, Miraj) Guest of honor of inaugural ceremony of pre-conference workshop Congratulated Dr. Meena Mishra and the entire organizing team of MAHATRAPACON – 2024 and expressed satisfaction seeing the huge registration for the state chapter.

Dr. Rajendra Surpam (President, VAMM) expressed satisfaction seeing the VAMM scaling new heights of success every time and vibrant activities of association has been instrumental in representation of medical microbiologists from Vidarbha area of Maharashtra.

Dr. Yagnesh Thakar, Dr. Ashok Pathak, Dr. Sulochana Pathak, Dr. Rangnathan Iyar, Dr. Rakesh Singh, Dr. Sunil Kolte, Dr. Himanshu Patil, Dr. Ganesh Dhakle, Dr. Arijit Kumar Ghosh, Dr. Pooja Bang, Dr. Gugapriya, Dr. Chaitali Bajait, Dr. Sameer Dwidmuthe, Dr. Ashwini Bakade, Dr. Anant Khot, Dr. Nisha Meshram, Dr. Jayaprasad Thripathi, Dr. Richa Juneja, Dr. Snehlata Gajbhiye were graced the occasion and congratulated for the success of MAHATROPACON -2024. Dr. Nandkishore Bankar proposed the vote of thanks and Dr. Swati Gupta was the Master of Ceremony.

The core organizing team from AIIMS, Nagpur also includes Dr. Pradeep Kumar V, Dr. Rahul Garg, Dr. Prity Narwade, Dr. Swati Gupta, Dr. Omna Nelumbium, Dr. Rashmi Moon, Dr. Ankita Gupta, Dr. ShivaniChoubey, Dr. Binju Baby, Dr. Sandhiya, Dr. Preeti Shahu, Dr. Rashmi Pillay, Mr. Aditya, Mr. Roshan, Ms. Poonam, Ms. Sonali Kamble, Mr. Sangram Dhurve and Mr. Sagar Mahajan, who are working hard to make MAHATROPACON-2024 a grand Success!